Power of the Pen

Sponsored by Mr. Barrington


Click here for more information on Power of the Pen



Trophies won by the Athens Middle School

Power of the Pen Team




Athens Middle School will be well represented at the State “Power of the Pen” Creative Writing Tournament at the College of Wooster on Friday, May 25. 

7th Graders Zerin Khan, Anne Li, and Callie Blazier have all had an outstanding season and will be traveling to Wooster.  8th Grader Audrey Jennings has also qualified, and Zac Oberg was named as an alternate for state competition, but both have opted to participate instead in the 8th Grade class trip to Washington, D.C., which, unfortunately, coincides with the Power of the Pen tournament.



Saturday, March 10 at Unioto High School 200 writers from

Southeastern Ohio participated in a Power of the Pen tournament.

Athens Middle School "Power of the Pen" creative writing team placed second

in the southeastern Ohio region. Additionally, the 7th Grade team placed fourth.


Individually, Audrey Jennings placed 8th, Zerin Khan placed 9th, and Anne Li placed 12th.  They thereby qualify for the State Power of the Pen tournament to be held at the College of Wooster on May 25. Also qualifying for state is Callie Blazier, who placed 21st. Other Athens Middle School participants Saturday were Captain Emma Buchanan, Emma Hauser, Zac Oberg, Tirosh Matzuba-Ehrlich, and Lucy Powell.  All of these students performed and behaved in an exemplary fashion, a credit to their school, their families, and themselves.  The Power of the Pen team would like to thank Linda Parsons, Amy Jennings, and Melanie McGrath for their help and support.




On Saturday, February 10, at Ohio University the Power of the pen teams competed in

the district tournament.

Individual Top 12 finishers for AMS were:

 1st Place-Anne Li

3rd Place-Emma Buchanan

 4th Place-Emma Hauser

4th Place-Zerin Khan

 5th Place-Tirosh Matzuba-Ehrlich

 10th Place-Callie Blazier  

In addition to winning the prize for Most Outstanding 7th Grade Writer, Anne Li also won a coveted "Best of Round" award.


Congratulations to the 8th grade team who placed 2nd overall.

8th Grade Starters:  Emma Buchanan, Audrey Jennings, Grace Yang, Emma Hauser, Annie Kruse, and Zach Oberg


8th Grade Alternates:  Hannah Rickey and Melissa Cheng


Other 8th Grade Members include:  Max Taylor-Milner, Andrew Dewald, Daniel Bell-Moran, Dani Cartee, Adam Edwards, Kortland Flickinger, Anya Miller, and Olga Sormaz



Congratulations to the 7th grade team who placed 1st overall.


7th Grade Starters:  Anne Li, Callie Blazier, Zerin Khan, Lucy Powell, Michael Carson, and Tirosh Matzuba-Ehrlich.


7th Grade Alternates:  Alane Suhr and the Eli Redfern



Other 7th Grade Members include:  Lexii Cummings, Sean King,  Caleb Sarchione, Elena Smith, Joshelyn Smith, Madison Stricklin, Meelim Li, Eli Catania, and Jonathan Williford.




Created by:  Andrew Dewald

            AMS Computer Club Staff

Edited by:  Eli Redfern

            AMS Computer Club Staff